International Court of Justice

International Court of Justice, The Hague, Netherlands

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is one of the six main organs of the United Nations (UN) and is the principal judicial organ of the organization. It is based in The Hague (Netherlands). Its function is twofold: to resolve, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States and to give advisory opinions on legal questions that they are requested by the organs and specialized agencies of the United Nations.


The Court is composed of 15 judges who are elected for nine years and may be reappointed. The current President is Judge Ronny Abraham of France and Vice-President is Judge Mohamed Bennouna of Morocco.


Judges are elected by the General Assembly and the United Nations Security Council, voting simultaneously and separately. The choice is made among candidates nominated by groups of lawyers (national groups) of the Permanent Court of Arbitration at The Hague. The elections take into account the criteria of geographic representation and representation of different legal systems.


For more information on the International Court of Justice, please consult:​




  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean